Your browser does not support JavaScript!
If you require this information in another format, please contact the main office at your school.
Text Only •  Contact Us  • 
    Home  • 
This is an image for the page banner This is an image for the page banner
This is an image for the page banner This is an image for the page banner
This is an image for the page header
Odessa Public School
This is an image for the page header
panel expand or collapsePrincipal / Vice-Principal Message
Spring has sprung!!!

April 2017

Dear Parents/Guardians,

Hopefully, the recent mix of sunshine, rain, and warmer weather has resulted in a little more 'green' around you, replacing the mud and snow. Our lost and found carries the remnants of the winter season, so please don't hesitate to come take a look for missing items.

There is so much happening at Odessa right now! Our Intermediate Basketball teams have wrapped up and our Junior Basketball is underway. We have a marathon club taking place and we are getting ready for road races, with Track and Field on the horizon. Some of our students arranged a 3 on 3 basketball tournament as a fundraiser for Jump Start - what a great success it has been, raising funds and awareness at the same time!

Recently, as a result of much work on the part of our Parent Council, we had three bottle filling stations installed in our hallways, replacing some of the older fountains. The filling stations provide colder, filtered water and allow for students to fill their water bottles, thus reducing the need for disposable containers.

Coming soon is our presentation of "Annie". Our staff and students have been rehearsing tirelessly to bring you this wonderful and much-loved musical.

These are just a few of the great things happening at Odessa! We look forward to sharing more information with you and, as always, don't hesitate to contact us at the school.

Sincerely, from your administrative team,

Darren Seymour
Martha Duncan
Susan Tucker


panel expand or collapseContact Us
Odessa Public School

10 North St., Box 160, Odessa, Ontario, K0H 2H0
• tel: 613-386-3022 • fax: 613-386-5270

Darren Seymour
Vice Principal:
Martha Duncan
Office Administrator:
Susan Tucker
School Council Co-Chairs:
Jon Bennett and Rob Richer
Supervising Principal:
Alison McDonnell
Wes Garrod

panel expand or collapsePupil Accommodation Review Updates
Click here for more information on the Pupil Accommodation Review for Yarker & Odessa

Communication home:
June 5, 2017

At a Special Meeting of the Limestone District School Board of Trustees June 5, 2017, Trustees voted to close Yarker Family School in September 2018 and relocate its students to Odessa Public School. Furthermore, the Board voted to declare Yarker school surplus to the Board in the fall of 2018.

The vote follows a Pupil Accommodation Review Process regarding Yarker Family School and Odessa Public School. The review process began in October 2016 and included consultation with the Pupil Accommodation Review Committee, the public and the broader school community over the past eight months. The intent of the review is to ensure appropriate program opportunities for students while balancing the ongoing challenges of declining enrolment and changes to funding that no longer support under-enrolled rural schools.

Trustees passed the following motions at the School Enrolment/School Capacity Committee of the Whole Board which were then confirmed at a Special Meeting of the Board shortly thereafter.

1. That the School Enrolment/School Capacity Committee of the Whole Board (SE/SCC) receive this Administrative Report and (Booklet 3) containing the Final Staff Report, Minutes from the SE/SCC meetings of April 24, 2017 and May 9, 2017, and May 9, 2017 delegation presentations and written feedback from the community from April 8, 2017 to May 31, 2017.

2. That the SE/SCC recommend that the Board approve the following:
2.1 That the present catchment area of the Yarker Family School be included with the Odessa Public School catchment area and the JK to Grade 3 students consolidated into Odessa Public School;
2.2 That the consolidation of the Yarker Family School students into Odessa Public School commence in September 2018; and
2.3 That the Yarker Family School be closed, and declared surplus to the Board in the fall of 2018.

"We know that Yarker is valued by the community, but we also know that we need to ensure we are making thoughtful and responsible decisions that will best serve all students across the district," said Board Chair Paula Murray. "We need to ensure that all students have the best programs and opportunities while balancing the ongoing challenges of declining enrolment and changes to funding that no longer support under-enrolled rural schools."

The Board will now work to support the movement of students and staff into their new school in a way that is both positive and supportive of both school communities. An integration committee will work over the next school year to support the transition of students and staff.

panel expand or collapseOdessa News and Events
Letter to Parents RE 13 Reasons Why Series on Netflixplace holding image
Is My Bus Cancelled or Delayed Today?place holding image
How to Subscribe to Bus Delays and Cancellationplace holding image
REMIND APP Invitation for Important Updatesplace holding image
panel expand or collapseSchool Calendar
panel expand or collapseBoard News
Limestone Media Releases(12)
Trustees approve balanced budget for 2017-2018place holding image
Trustee acclaimed as President of OPSBAplace holding image
Board approves closure of Yarker Family Schoolplace holding image
Limestone graduation rate surpasses provincial targetplace holding image
Kingston Intermediate/Secondary School to proceed to tender phaseplace holding image
LDSB among organization recognized for work with Syrian newcomersplace holding image
... more ... 
Aug 17, 2017
© 2009 - Limestone District School Board - Questions or concerns may be addressed to the school webmaster by clicking here.